Learning Spaces Strategy Committee

The purpose of the Learning Spaces Strategy Committee (LSSC) is to provide a forum for campus leadership and key UNT stakeholders to examine best practices in new physical spaces that will enhance teaching and learning and the student experience at our institution. In service to the Space Planning and Management Committee (SPMC), the LSSC will be responsible for developing a digital strategy for the future of classrooms at UNT.

LSSC Board members will:

  1. Examine the current classroom inventory at Denton, Discovery Park, Frisco Hall and Frisco Inspire
  2. Review research on best teaching and learning practices in new classroom settings and understand high impact interventions
  3. Benchmark exemplary peer institutions and study successful implementations and infrastructure
  4. Using available data, develop a continuous improvement pathway including:
    1. An appropriate budget to equip rooms as associated with study findings
    2. Classroom categorization beyond its current state to include clear branding and tiers for these collaborative, flexible classrooms
    3. A process of matching rooms with instructional strategies
    4. Outlining criteria and metrics to ensure new classroom effectiveness and ROI
    5. Establishment instructor training based on each classroom tiers.
  5. Interact with and inform the SPMC and Capital Improvement projects impacting Learning Spaces

Members Include:

  • John Quintanilla, College of Science (Chair)
  • Adam Fein, Office of the President (Ex-Officio)
  • Rudi Thompson, College of Science (Ex-Officio)
  • Danny Armitage, Division of Student Affairs
  • Josh Avery, New College at Frisco
  • Cheryl Benningfield, Office of Space Management
  • Darlene Callahan, Office of Space Management
  • Chris Canuteson, Classroom Support Services
  • Steven Cobb, College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences
  • Travis Craig, Office of Space Management
  • Yunfei Du, College of Information
  • Michael McPherson, Office of the Provost and VP for Academic Affairs
  • Ashley Olsberg, Office of the VP for Digital Strategy & Innovation
  • Neely Shirey, Office of Facilities
  • Cheryl Smith, Office of Facilities
  • “Hepi” Wachter, College of Visual Arts and Design
  • Kim Wells, Office of the Registrar